Illinois State Song

With the cooperation of the arranger, Richard Hayman, and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra Library, a full orchestral score and extracted parts for By thy waters gently flowing, the official Illinois State Song, are available to ICO Members.

These materials are available in one of two forms: a PDF file or hard copy. PDFs are available free of cost to ICO member orchestras and public or private schools, and will be sent to you as an attachment to an e-mail. Hard copies will be mailed to you accompanied by a billing for the copying and shipping costs. 

The orchestration is as follows:

  • 3 flutes
  • 2 oboes and english horn
  • 2 B-flat clarinets and bass clarinet
  • 2 bassoons and contrabassoon
  • 4 horns
  • 4 trumpets
  • 3 trombones
  • tuba
  • timpani and percussion (cymbals, triangle & chimes)
  • harp
  • organ (piano can substitute for organ and may also be omitted)
  • voice
  • 2 violins
  • viola
  • cello
  • bass

There are four verses for the song. This arrangement can easily be performed with solo voice accompanied by unison chorus, audience participation, or both.

Lyrics to the work can be found here. Read more about the history of this song here. Hear the piano/voice version here.

To order a full score, noting whether you wish it sent to you by e-mail attachment or hard copy, please email [email protected]